Posted in Writing

Say Your Name!

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself? ~ The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt

I was named after my two maternal great-grandmothers, Mary Ophelia and Virginia Grace. Up until around middle school, I went by my full name. For a very short time after that, I wanted to go by the nickname Maggie, which I considered to be a combination of Mary and Grace. But that didn’t last long, and soon I just wanted to go by Mary.

When I create characters for my stories, this is a part of the history that I try to think of. But I also want to look up the meanings of the names I’m interested in to see if they fit the character I’m trying to create. (And I’ve started to notice that I favor names that start with J – Jessica, Jemima, Jo, Jack, Joel, Joseph, etc.)

How do you come up with names for your characters? Do you decide on the name first and then create the character around the name? Or create the character and then pick a name? Or something else altogether?

Author:

I'm a senior at the University of Central Arkansas, studying Linguistics and Creative Writing. I love learning, chocolate, reading, writing, knitting, crocheting and photography.

Have some thoughts to share? Awesome!

