Posted in Writing

A New Direction of Writing

Who likes to write by hand?

I used to do it all the time, then moved to writing on my laptop for a  long time. Suddenly, one day, I quit writing except for college writing assignments and NaNoWriMo – both mostly enjoyable. But here lately, I’ve rediscovered my love for writing.

Last week, I had grabbed a blank notebook from the commuter lounge to try a free-writing exercise and paused. I stared at the page for a second and started thinking, “Why should I start writing on the first line? Let’s try something else! …

…Let’s try writing from a corner of the page!”

So I tilted the notebook and thought I’d try it from the top left corner of the page. Didn’t like it. And I wasn’t going to use the right side corners, because I’d have the notebook spring pressing against my wrist. Not happening! So – bottom left corner it is.

The prompt for this free write was clouds – in fact, my Free Flow post is the product of this – so I put my pen to that bottom left corner of the notebook and started writing. I was surprised at how fun it was to write this way. I’ve written like this several more times now.

DSCN2206
My latest session of using my “new direction”

As you can see, I don’t start a new line for new paragraphs.  That would leave me with too much empty space on the page.

Why is this working so well for me? I don’t know. Maybe it’s simply because my right-brained self wanted to try something different from what my left-brained self was used to all throughout school.

If I enjoy this so much with a lined notebook, what about an unlined notebook? My mom has a blank multimedia book she was going to use for an art journal, but hasn’t done anything with it yet, so she’s offered it to me. I’ll let you know how it works out.

For you hand-writers, where you do write? What notebooks do you use? Do you use lined or blank? Or do you use notebooks? Do you have any tips to share?

Author:

I'm a senior at the University of Central Arkansas, studying Linguistics and Creative Writing. I love learning, chocolate, reading, writing, knitting, crocheting and photography.

Have some thoughts to share? Awesome!

